Sometimes I love my job. So much I take it home with me. I am expected to know about intellectual property. Mostly keeping up to date with this involves reading short sections of text books, law articles, or sometimes case law and legislation. Very rarely does it involve reading comics and listening to music*. This is not a good thing as listening to music and reading comics are activities I can really buy into!

I think this blog doesn’t often deal with the amount of reading that I do, and I can guess a few reasons for this, but at least there are some representatives. This book, though written by lawyers, brilliantly focuses on morality and creativity. Concepts that are frankly absent from IP law. Though there is discussion of creators, rights holders are the focus. It’s about the money, not the sustainability of artistry and creativity, the productivity of the creative sector, and creative innovation. Due to the absence of these concepts from courts of law we have deliberate stagnation of creativity and a culture obsessed with retro.  While the tone of this book is not entirely to my taste, and the female author is objectified and sexualised in the illustrations gratuitously I think, I really enjoy this and recommend it to all fellow librarians that have professional and teaching responsibilities in IP that also love music, history, and comics.

That’s a surprisingly large audience I think!

*I have insisted that a sampler be brought into the classroom for law intellectual property classes, and I have tried to get comics as learning materials whenever possible because: reasons.

Leave a Reply

