We are changing our supported platform from WordPress to Weebly. I was particularly dissatisfied with WordPress in the classes I didn’t get much time with and from the pilot project. I had originally inherited WP from my brilliant colleague Tricia Harris, now a furniture designer. And garden designer too. This was many years ago and it was chosen for reasons of privacy, extensibility, and portability. These were all valid choices but platforms and web services evolve. WP has got too large, too confusing, and too difficult for the most students. Weebly and Wix are the two most common alternatives so I set about producing a version of the eportfolio in each. My guidelines were

  • it must create a portfolio suitable for use and one that you can take and expand as you grow
  • it must be capable of being the fulcrum in your digital identity
  • it can be used for ELD, MATE, and the NF pilot project

The selection was based on what produced the best results, and seemed easiest to learn. I made a site in Weebly and have chosen this and will roll it out for the CTE/MATE RPD class next week in Cork. It’s that easy. FWIW I hated Wix.

weebly front page for PD

http://robmckenna.weebly.com/

This took me a couple of days at least and was a commitment I think I was loathe to make – changing. The delay in doing it cost me time on this project as I didn’t want to do a site I was going to change.

I now have to update this site in at least two, and realistically 3 to 5 platforms. Which if there is anything I learnt from Helen Barrett it must be that commitment.

I’m delighted I have belatedly begun to be a more capable mentor.

Leave a Reply

