My copy of the new edition of Brookfield’s becoming a critically reflective teacher arrives. I actually read the introduction with mounting excitement and a sense of possibilities. These really are areas that I want(ed) to examine with groups I work with.

Brookfield

I was particularly struck by his insight into power and discourse in teaching. Applying this thinking to reflective practice, reflection, and portfolios is a topic that has long tempted me and one which I think I will not be able to resist after this.

I fully admit to not having read this before, despite using his “four lenses”. As usual it was really instructive to go back to the original text. Not to be all old fashioned librarian on it, but I learn more and more, every year, how important a commitment to scholarship is.

Leave a Reply

