First up, here are my slides

From attending and listening at the seminar I learnt a lot from the keynote by Andrew Preator relating to critical reflective practice. This was particularly timely as I was presenting with the viewpoint that the PDP portfolios were not  a place for this. But I am not suggesting that critical reflective practice is not to be engaged it, just that it is incompatible with a professional development portfolio. I drew the analogy with assessment of and for learning and how presenting yourself, your digital persona, for career enhancement is different from the kind of experimental, questioning work that critical reflective practice is.

It was nice to see the work that the public library service do, and obviously the DLR Lexicon is awesome, and the regeneration of the concept of the commons of a public non-commercial space is really importseminarDBSant.

I was less happy about the embrace of big data than the second keynote. But that should come as no surprise to those who have read my tweets on IP, infosec, privacy etc.

The lively debate at the end was notable for Jane Burns having a losing proposition to fight- getting rid of the word librarian in a room full of librarians – but she convinced me (not that Helen Fallon wasn’t also excellent) and I noticed that Andrew Preator changed his too

On a personal level it was quite stressful getting the presentation together in such a rush with the data arriving late. The presentation went well though, I did have to go  quickly. I’m now more focused on bringing this work forwards. What I have planned so far is:

  • Attending a seminar exploring the T&L framework for librarians (invite from the Librarian at DIT)
  • Follow up with the HECA Librarians group meeting on Friday, scoping out the mapping exercise for library CPD (Helen/David) I will update this following 16/06
  • This should lead to publishable work late in 2017
  • Possible article (non-peer reviewed) over the summer, a publication is interested

Intellectually I am planning to engage further with queer and feminist radical pedagogies. I have just bought Bell Hooks’ Teaching to Transgress based on Andrew’s presentation. I also realise I need to reconsider digital citizenship (which I view from the perspective of preserving the well being of the subject/teacher in a harsh neoliberal reality) and came upon this article via Catherine Cronin on Twitter. Which is timely.

catherine cronin tweet

I also would like to place the video of Judith Butler somewhere, so here would be good.

Leave a Reply

